Spotlighting AWI Members

Award-Winning Craftsmanship

At AWI, we believe in celebrating excellence, dedication, and the unwavering commitment of our members.

Our awards are nationally recognized honors that celebrate individuals and projects making monumental contributions to the woodworking industry, all while maintaining the esteemed standards of AWI.

The Charles A. Rinehimer Award

This award stands as the pinnacle of recognition within AWI. It honors those whose long-time service and outstanding achievements have profoundly shaped AWI into the esteemed association it is today.
Nomination Process:
The AWI Chair, Immediate Past Chair, and Vice Chair nominate deserving individuals. The Board of Directors must then unanimously approve the nomination.

Past Award Winners

William Munyan 


Phil Duvic  


Michael Bell


Scott Nelson


Stan Robuck 


William Winter


Robert Morency


Rob Ziegelmeier


John Mielach


Louis Dietz 


W.T Sutherland


Norman Vaughn


R.H. Loll

The Claude V. Twiellenmeier Award

Dedicated to AWI Chapter leaders, this award celebrates outstanding leadership and unwavering dedication to an AWI Chapter. The COC volunteer leadership and AWI executive leadership nominate individuals, with the winner determined by a majority vote.

The AWI Chair's Award

This award is a special recognition given at the discretion of the current AWI chair. It celebrates long-serving volunteers who have consistently showcased leadership and the spirit of volunteerism and have been role models within the AWI community.

Honorary Life Member (HLM)

The HLM award recognizes individuals who have dedicated their careers to AWI, championing its mission and serving its members. HLM recipients are nominated by their AWI peers.  

These recipients receive a complimentary lifetime membership and a significantly discounted rate for all AWI events, as well as, one of the highest AWI recognitions.  

Albert Morante*

Bob Krejci

Bruce Cody

Bruce Spitz

Bud Lundahl

Carl Bullmore*

Clete Ernster*

Craig Johnson

Dave Mengler*

Dick Currie*

Doug Carney

Doug Mock

Ed Brewer

Ed Nolan*

Eldredge Leeming

Frank Huschitt, Sr.*

Gerald Brewer

Greg Heuer

James Hamilton, Sr.*

Jay Blankenship

Jerry Allen

John Halpin

John Leininger

John Mielach*

Joseph Bossen

Ken Kamien

Kirsten Ingham

Kristine Cox

Lee Biagiotti*

Lloyd Burton*

Lou Dietz*

Margaret Fisher

Marlin Olsen*

Matt Lundahl

Michael Bell

Mickey McCoy

Ned Kreider

Paul Fetzer

Phil Duvic

Randy Estabrook

Randy Jensen

Rick Kogler

Rick Ohlson*

Robert Stout

Robert Ziegelmeier

Scott Nelson

Steve Bialek

Teresa McCain

Wendell Ellsworth

Whitney Coombs

William Hanselman

William Munyan

Yves DesMarais

*Asterisk - Deceased

HLM Qualifications

Past AWI Chairs, ten years removed from office, are automatically nominated annually.

A minimum of ten years of voluntary service to AWI at the national level.

Exceptional leadership and dedication to AWI's mission.


Nomination Process

AWI members submit nominations. The Board of Directors then approves the nominee through a majority vote.


HLM recipients enjoy a lifetime individual membership, recognition on the AWI website, and discounted rates for AWI events. Their spouse or domestic partner also receives these event discounts.

Standard of Excellence Award

This award highlights the premier architectural woodwork projects. Chosen from the Award of Excellence Program winners, these projects exemplify the pinnacle of craftsmanship and design.


Only projects featuring woodwork by an AWI Manufacturing Member Company qualify. Projects of any size, including interiors, exteriors, or specialty items, are eligible. Architects, designers, suppliers, woodworking firms, or owners can submit projects.
View Quarterly Winners

AWI / Federated Insurance Safety Awards

Safety stands at the core of AWI's values. These awards recognize member firms that prioritize and uphold safety standards in the woodworking industry.

Nomination Process

Winners submit their safety data in the annual survey. An external firm then calculates the results, and AWI presents awards in three categories:

Best Safety Award Achievement:
Recognizes manufacturing member firms with the lowest incident rate in their category hours. Categories range from less than ten thousand hours to more than one hundred thousand hours.

Zero Lost Time Accident Achievement Award:
Celebrates manufacturers across all categories that report no lost time due to accidents.

Safety Improvement Award:
Honors manufacturers across all categories that have reduced their incident rate from the previous year.


Best Safety Award Winners

Commercial Millworks Inc., Orlando, FL
Inter Ocean Cabinet Company, Elmhurst, IL
Mass Cabinets Inc., Methuen, MA
Yadkin Valley Cabinet Company, Inc., Mount Airy, NC


Brochsteins Inc., Houston, TX
Desco Professional Builders, Inc., Ellington, CT
Volpe Millwork Inc., Cleveland, OH
Yadkin Valley Cabinet Company, Inc., Mount Airy, NC


Cherryworks Ltd., Kingsville, MD
Mass Cabinets Inc., Methuen, MA
Montbleau, San Diego, CA
Yadkin Valley Cabinet Company, Inc., Mount Airy, NC

Join the Ranks of the Recognized

At AWI, we're not just about setting standards but about recognizing those exceeding them. If you believe in excellence, innovation, and the power of community, consider joining us. Explore the benefits of AWI membership and see how you, too, can make a mark in the world of woodworking.
Get Started Today